TSFKA Riposo: contains nudities!

Busy si kuya utoy so bear with yet another photo-filled post.  I wanted sana to do a foodie post on Bagoong Club in Tomas Morato, QC but I’d rather spare the restaurant from a detailed panlalait.  All those unsuccessful fusion dishes and serving bagoong with just about anything  just failed to impress me.   My verdict on the Bagoong Club:  decent enough for a weekend family dinner-out.

I’m featuring today the artworks that can be found at Nicanor Garcia St., Brgy. Bel-Air, Makati City, the street formerly known as Riposo.

The scribbles of nude women on this painting reminds me so much of Merton’s nudes to which I made a homage on one of my posts.

lumads of mindanao

lumads of mindanao

while this one has the “cubist’s nudes” feel.

nudes

nudes

Would you believe, they’re streetside murals?

may buntot pa talaga ng SUV, ano?

may buntot pa talaga ng SUV, ano?

ang ganda na sana, nilagyan pa ng plawersh-plawersh.

ang ganda na sana, nilagyan pa ng plawersh-plawersh.

Here’s some more murals.  Note the espa-espada plant at the bottom part of the following pictures.

astig sa advocacy...

astig sa advocacy...

string quartet... minus one version.

string quartet... minus one version.

mare, alam mo bang ang saya natin eh gawa lang sa chiffon?

mare, alam mo bang ang saya natin eh gawa lang sa chiffon?

The Nicanor Garcia St. is also the home of Budji Layug’s showroom, Liberstiles,  Wine Depot and the Alliance Francaise de Manille.  Here is a picture of a wall art near the parking space of Alliance Francaise.  It’s a modern mosaic composed of fired ceramic tessera.  It recalls the classic depiction of medieval saints, who, when tempted to commit the sins of the flesh, throw themselves naked on the thorny rose bushes.  Ouch.

throwing myself over a gumamela shrub could have been less painful...

throwing myself over a gumamela shrub could have been less painful...

Inside Alliance Francaise is a small authentic French coffeeshop and an art gallery.  Shown here is the exhibit of Manuel Baldemor’s paintings entitled “Springtime in France.”

baldemor's paintings

baldemor's paintings

baldemor's painting

baldemor's painting

baldemor's painting

baldemor's painting

Every month, new exhibits are opened here so one can drop by Alliance to view them, if not to order coq au vin for lunch.

The last on our picture is the Altar Cross at the Parish of St. Andrew the Apostle also in Nicanor Garcia St.  The parish building is designed by a National Artist whose name eludes me right now.  This Cross is sculpted by yet another National Artist whose name I also forgot.

avant garde cross

avant garde cross

7 Responses

  1. How cultured, kapatid. I seriously like those streetside murals especially the string quartet at ang mga mare. I did not know we had that in Manila.

    Ang galing din ng mga paintings ni Baldemor. I hope to see the works of my children also displayed in a place like that. O baka naman dapat gumawa ako ng sarili kong art gallery para lang mai-display ko yung mga paintings nila? Hmmm, sa blog ko na lang…hehehe!

    walang biro, your children got talent. God bless!

  2. sana walang mag-paint over sa mga artworks na yan sa tabi ng kalye.

    at bakit naman kailangang mag pay ng mind sa espada plant? mind boggling ka talaga bro utoy, o nasobrahan ka ng coq au vin..

    at bakit sa gumamela ka lang at di sa thorny rose bushes? less serious ba ang sin mo? haha

    alam mo bang ang translation ng coq au vin eh “pansabong na inadobo sa tanduay?” hehehe…
    hinalay, este, hinighlight ko yung espada plant para maniwala silang street murals lang yun. masmarami pang mas magandang paintings kaya lang umuulan nung kinunan ko yan so kung saan lang may masisilungan, doon ako nag-kudak-kudak. hehehe…
    gumamela lang kasi sayang ang ploles kong panit.
    God bless!

  3. wow kuya utoy isa ka na talagang photographer…hehehe

    hataw din sa caption ang picture (mare, alam mo bang ang saya natin eh gawa lang sa chiffon?)….wahaha

  4. ang gaganda ng murals, favorite ko yung string quartet minus one version hehe..kulang na kasi sa space kaya indi na nila sinama yung isa, wawa naman.🙂 ang kukulit ng captions haha, nagsa-side comment pa eh. indi ako mashado mahilig sa paintings pero when i see an art gallery somewhere kahit sa malls, napapatanga na lang ako sa kanila hehe..i dont know why.🙂

    ako rin, minsan napapatunganga rin sa mga paintings sa mall, not because hanep sa ganda, kundi dahil, hanep, ang mamahal nila!
    God bless!

  5. Hi, just want to air my bitchiness and 4give me 4 d word. Recently, I asked help from Kevin of http://pinoyteens.net, +639153815289 (mobile number)/ +63822440610 (landline number) with an email address service@pinoyteens.net and YM i.believe_11 who lives at Luzviminda Village Waling-waling St. 211-B, Ma-a, Davao City, Philippines, to help me with my domain (http://honeyreyes.com) since I am stupid with its technicalities in wordpress. He said he has helped a lot of bloggers for free yet I opt to give him a little reward just to help me so through gcash I sent a small amount of money (500php) even before he started to modify or edit something. I wanted to change my layout into Bradford magazine. I kept my patience coz every time we chat in YM, he has a lot of things to do in his globally famous site. I grew out of patience for a month, nada.. after a few weeks, i cant open my wordpress nor my blog’s url because he changes its theme into something ugly which is temporary lang daw … then when after a week of not being able to post an entry or edit my own blog, he gives this message in YM that he lost his globe sim. We had an agreement he would help me for a month now, I sent him the money more than 2 weeks ago. I kept on sending him messages in YM but no reply from him even if he was online until Saturday night. I could not see him online anymore in YM which is quite unusual. I was able to rung his phone Monday morning (Aug.4) but now it’s turned off.
    I do not care about the money I just want my blog back because I cannot post an entry. If he cannot help me change its layout, he should have been honest from the beginning. I promised to give him 1,000php after he finishes all the changes, that was our agreement.

    ALL I WANTED WAS TO CHANGE ITS THEME TO BRADFORD MAGAZINE. I AM SO STUPID I COULD NOT DO IT ON MY OWN. I SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH MY OLD THEME AND NOW I CANNOT EVEN BLOG ANYMORE. MY NEW POST WON’T BE PUBLISHED.

    I AM POSTING THIS COMMENT TO GET KEVIN PAQUET’S ATTENTION! GIVE ME THE ID AND PASSWORD SO I CAN DELETE THE UGLY BLOG HE SAID HE TEMPORARILY LAID OUT FOR ME.

    MADALI AKONG KAUSAP. I TOLD HIM THE PREVIOUS DAYS JUST BRING BACK MY OLD BLOG AND I WON’T REQUEST FOR ANYTHING ANYMORE SINCE IT IS OBVIOUS HE CAN’T HELP ME. HE HAVE PUSHED ME TOO FAR BRO, THIS IS THE ONLY WAY I CAN GET HIS ATTENTION SINCE HE KEEP ON IGNORING ME. I KNOW MONEY IS NOT AN ISSUE FOR HIM TOO. HOWEVER, HE SHOULD HAVE KEPT HIS WORD.”

    I asked some people to repost this to get his attention coz i might lose my blog with my own name in it because of him. I JUST WANT MY BLOG BACK!

    Sorry for the disturbance, just can’t hold my anger anymore. I am really sorry…

    whoa, sister! some flaring emotions there. but i totally understand why you feel like this for your blog. at dahil maganda ka naman eh hahayaan kitang mag-voiceout sa blog ko kahit di related sa post ko ang comment mo. 🙂 but i deleted a word there kasi it’s too colorful for a seminarian’s blog to carry.

    this kevin paquet of pinoyteens.net sounds familiar. isn’t he the one who’s link-fishing sa mga kapitbahay natin sa wordpress pero hindi man lang nagbother mag-iwan ng lehitimong comment?

    at kay kevin naman: naku, hijo, you claim to represent pinoy teens sa blogosphere, tapos ganyan ka. ibalik mo na yung blog ni honey namin!

  6. ngeh ningbalos pud… naku bro, di jud q ani makatulog ug pila ka semana giingnan q nimo gwapa hehehe… God bless!

  7. kabalen!!! kapampangan ka?..😀 pa xlinks naman po.. chailuvs-chei.blogspot.com.. tnx..

Leave a Reply

